Malta flag Malta: Business Environment

Industrial and commercial standards in Malta


National Standards Organisations
MCCAA, Malta Standards Authority
Integration in the International Standards Network
As Malta is member of the European Union, EU legislation in terms of standardization is applied in this field. The organization responsible for defining technical standards is the Malta Standards Authority (MSA).The MSA is a member of the International Standard Organization (ISO), of the European Committee for Standardization (CEN), of the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC), of the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI), of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU).
Classification of Standards
Malta being part of the European Union, all products sold in the country are regulated by specific EU legislation (EU's General Product Safety Directive) as well as to possible additional national requirements. An important feature of EU standards is CE marking which is necessary for products which may pose a health or safety risk.
Online Consultation of Standards
A catalogue of Malta's standards can be found on the Malta Standards Authority website.
Certification Organisations
MCCAA Malta Competition and Consumer Affairs Authority

Return to top

Any Comment About This Content? Report It to Us.


© eexpand, All Rights Reserved.
Latest Update: May 2024